TravcoForum.com

Travco Classic Motorhome Support & Discussion Forum

Skip to content

Change font size

Board index » Maintenance » Brakes
Post here for Brake System related Discussion

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread postby Acesneights on Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:37 pm

99$ ?? Ouch.
I think I would have made the 7$ NAPA one work even if it meant modifying the bracket.
1975 Travco 270
1974 Travco 220 Parts unit
User avatar
Acesneights
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1755
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:01 am
Location: North East Ct
Travco Model: 1975 270,1974 220

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread postby KB2CRK on Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:35 pm

I think a couple proper sized washers on the smaller diameter switch should work. I received the first quote and it was $350.00 a piece. Still waiting on two more to come in. A rubber boot for the tip might be a good idea.
User avatar
KB2CRK
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread postby 77Travco on Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:45 am

I think I would make something much cheaper work... of course I have been known to be frugal that way. :P
User avatar
77Travco
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:32 am
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Travco Model:

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread postby KB2CRK on Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:00 am

I found another place selling them for $50 a piece. Still high for me. Still waiting on two more so called Government surplus quotes. I have 2 5$ switches on the way. I am sure I can get them to work. I just cant see spending that much on a simple switch.

The link to the $50 switch
http://www.hiltopautoparts.com/product/ ... ck-models/
Last edited by KB2CRK on Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
KB2CRK
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread postby KB2CRK on Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:22 am

According to a Mopar a-series van forum a Borg warner s237 will work but is not weather tight. The travcos and 69, 70 a series vans used the same switch. It cross references over to the NAPA part you listed Aces and the the switches I ordered off ebay. I will try to carefully remove the rubber boot off of my old switch and see if I can put it on the new one when it gets here.
User avatar
KB2CRK
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread postby Acesneights on Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:27 pm

I wouldn't worry too much about weather tight unless your gonna do alot of winter driving.
1975 Travco 270
1974 Travco 220 Parts unit
User avatar
Acesneights
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1755
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:01 am
Location: North East Ct
Travco Model: 1975 270,1974 220

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread postby KB2CRK on Sat Dec 13, 2014 8:34 am

I am going to try and make it semi weatherproof as the winters are mild it does tend to rain quite a bit here in Georgia during the spring.
User avatar
KB2CRK
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread postby 77Travco on Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:37 pm

KB2CRK wrote:According to a Mopar a-series van forum a Borg warner s237 will work but is not weather tight. The travcos and 69, 70 a series vans used the same switch. It cross references over to the NAPA part you listed Aces and the the switches I ordered off ebay.


Good info to know!
User avatar
77Travco
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 2:32 am
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Travco Model:

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread postby KB2CRK on Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:45 pm

I will let you know how the switch works as soon as it arrives. I will also take pictures of any mod necessary.
User avatar
KB2CRK
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2

Re: 76 Brake light switch

Unread postby KB2CRK on Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:44 pm

Well the new switch is here. Its shaft is a smaller diameter as I thought it might be. 2 5/8 washers will get it mounted but it is not long enough for the arm to hit it. The threaded section is the same length is the same as the old switch so I am assuming I am missing a tab that bolts to the arm. I would fabricate one but it has started raining outside and i need to get a nap before work tonight. Does anyone else have a picture of the switch location? I know it can be made to work so that is a good thing.
User avatar
KB2CRK
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 2:26 pm
Location: Arnoldsville GA
Travco Model: 76 Mahal 2+2

PreviousNext

Return to Brakes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests